WYAC – The Corporation

Wajarri Yamaji Aboriginal Corporation (“WYAC”) was established in May 2013 for the Wajarri Yamaji people who have traditional rights in the Murchison area.

WYAC is a registered Public Benevolent Institution (charity) and membership-based association. It receives monies through the Murchison Radio Observatory Indigenous Land Use Agreement as well as more recent mining agreements. These funds are then independently invested and distributed by Winja Wajarri Barna Limited, the Trust.

Governing Rules

The corporation operates according to it’s Rule Book, which governs the overarching operations of the Board of Directors and the relationship between members, Directors and the Chief Executive Officer.

View our Rules to learn more about how we operate.


Directors meet at least 6 times per year. An Annual General meeting is held within five months of the end of the financial year.

Join us as a Member to receive upcoming meeting notices and Wajarri Community Office newsletters.

CEO – Jamie Strickland

Jamie is a Yamatji man with strong links to Badimia and Wajarri country, and also Yued in Noongar country. He has worked predominately for State Government for over 30 years, starting on a traineeship at what was Homeswest in Geraldton in 1992 and finishing most recently as Acting Assistant Director General – Aboriginal Outcomes for the Department of Communities, which is the most senior Aboriginal Public Servant in WA. Jamie has also held a number of roles in the State Government at senior management and senior executive levels, including as Chief Land Officer and Executive Director Community Development at the Department of Aboriginal Affairs, and as Regional Director Midwest Gascoyne, Regional Executive Director Great Southern & Wheatbelt, and Executive Director StateWide Services, at the Department of Communities. He also led the development of the Department of Communities first Reconciliation Action Plan. Jamie was also the inaugural CEO for Yamatji Southern Regional Corporation and has considerable experience on boards – including previously on Central Regional TAFE and Water Corporations Customer Advisory Committee, and is a newly appointed member of the Aboriginal Lands Trust.


We acknowledge our board of Directors for their commitment to our values and their strategic guidance; delivering access to great programs and community initiatives.

WYAC currently has eight (8) Directors comprising eight (7) Member-Directors who represent the four (4) Land Committees and one (1) Independent Director.

  • Anthony Dann – Chairperson – Minangu Land Committee
  • Juliet Jones – Minangu land Committee
  • Charles Snowball Jnr – Burringurrah and Milly Milly Land Committee
  • Rebecca Lockyer – Burringurrah and Milly Milly Land Committee
  • Tanya Roe – Ngoonooru Land Committee
  • Julie-Anne Berg – Ngoonooru Land Committee
  • Dawn Hamlett – Byro Land Committee
  • Paula McIntosh – Byro Land Committee
  • Debra Fletcher – Independent Director

Land Groups

The Wajarri Yamaji Native Title Determination encompasses an area of approximately 85,000 square kilometres in the Murchison and Gascoyne regions of Western Australia.

The Wajarri Yamaji People comprise four Land Groups; Minangu, Burringurrah/Milly Milly, Bryo and Ngoonooru.

Each Land Group is represented by a committee of Traditional Owners, called the Land Committees. Those four Land Committee members are as follows:

Anthony Dann
Jennylyn Hamlett
Julie Jones
Val Jones
Russell Simpson
Gail Simpson
Leonie Boddington

Burringurrah/Milly Milly
Charles Snowball
Rebecca Lockyer
Sharlene Thorne

Paula McIntosh
Dawn Hamlett
Donna Kelly 

Stephen Compton
Travis Fraser (Snr)
Tanya Roe
Richard Berg
Robert Budd
Matthew Berg
Julie-Anne Berg

Certificate of Registration

Viewers Discretion

Traditional owners are warned that the following may contain names/images of deceased persons.